Dr. Ray Reutzel
Laramie, WY

Dr. Ray Reutzel is Dean of the College of Education at the University of Wyoming.  Previous to his current position, he was the Emma Eccles Jones Distinguished Professor and Endowed Chair of Early Literacy Education at Utah State University for 14 years. He is the author of more than 225 published research reports in top tier research and professional journals, articles, books, book chapters, and monographs. He is the author of the best-selling textbook on the teaching of reading, Teaching Children to Read: The Teacher Makes the Difference, 8th Edition published by Pearson Education, Boston, MA.  He has received more than 16 million dollars in research/professional development funding. He has been active in securing legislative and private foundation gifts in excess of 25 million dollars. He is the former editor for Literacy Research and Instruction and The Reading Teacher and is the current Executive Editor of the Journal of Educational Research. He received the 1999 A.B. Herr Award for outstanding contributions to reading research and instruction and the 2013 ALER Laureate Award from the Association of Literacy Researchers and Educators. Ray served as President of the Association of Literacy Educators and Researchers (ALER) from 2006-2007. He was presented the John C. Manning Public School Service Award from the International Reading Association (now International Literacy Association) in May 2007 in Toronto, Canada and served as a member of the Board of Directors of the International Reading Association from 2007-2010. Ray was a member of the Literacy Research Association’s Board of Directors from 2012-2015. He is an author of Curriculum Associates Ready Common Core Reading, Writing, and Reading Foundations programs and the iReady diagnostic assessment suite. Dr. Reutzel is a member of the internationally prestigious Reading Hall of Fame that has recognized 135 individuals worldwide over the past 50 years for their service, research, and contributions to reading and literacy. He will serve as the elected President of the Reading Hall of Fame from 2017-2018.